11th High Level Seminar on Sustainable Cities

29–30 September 2020

The High-Level Seminar (HLS) on Sustainable Cities (former title: HLS on Environmentally Sustainable Cities) is organised annually as a platform to gather together influential East and Southeast Asia policymakers, experts and practitioners working to make cities clean, green and sustainable since 2010. HLS provides opportunities for participants to share and promote their latest ideas and initiatives on sustainable city development; to explore collaboration potential; and, importantly, to develop specific recommendations to the East Asia Summit Environment Ministers Meeting, which includes ASEAN Environment Ministers, on practical cooperation activities on environmentally sustainable cities.

The 11th HLS was originally planned in March 2020 in Manila, the Philippines, and it was postponed because of the spread of COVID-19. Currently, discussion on how to accelerate transformative changes to more sustainable and resilient city in the context of the New Normal is taking place in various occasions, and it is optimal time for cities and those who work with cities in the regions to share the on-going initiatives and consider future direction of recovery policies and measures on “building back better”.

In light of the importance to address the issue, the organisers of the 11th HLS, namely the Ministry of the Environment, Japan, the Department of Natural Resources and Environment, the Philippines, the ASEAN Working Group on Environmentally Sustainable Cities and the ASEAN Secretariat decided to organise the 11HLS on-line as a webinar series consisting three parts – opening high-level plenary, thematic segment, and the concluding session each of which exchange views and discuss the direction of cities’ development. 

Event Details

Date
29–30 September 2020
Venue

On-line meeting via zoom

Organisers
Government of Philippines
Government of Japan
ASEAN Secretariat
ASEAN Working Group on Environmentally Sustainable Cities
Languages
Japanese / English
Agenda
Related Links
Contact

Any enquiries should be directed to the Secretariat via email at [email protected].

Presentation Materials

DAY 1: Tuesday, 29 September 2020
Philippine Time: PHT (UTC+8) / Japan Standard Time: JST (UTC+9)

Opening Session
Moderator: Dr. K. Nagulendran
Chair of ASEAN Working Group on Environmentally Sustainable Cities (AWGESC);
Deputy Secretary General (Environment), Ministry of Environment and Water, Malaysia

10:00 PHT
11:00 JST
Opening Remarks

Mr. KONDO Tomohiro, Vice Minister for Global Environmental Affairs, Ministry of the Environment, Japan

 

Atty. Jonas R. Leones, Undersecretary for Policy, Planning and International Affairs

 
10:15 PHT
11:15 JST
Messages from Cities “Sustainable and Resilient Cities in New Normal”
Messages from City Mayors Mr. KATAYAMA Kenya, Mayor, Niseko Town, Hokkaido PDF (3.0MB)
Mr. SHIMIZU Hayato, Mayor, Saitama City (Video Message) Video
Ms. Andrea Valentine A. Villaroman, Head, Environmental Protection and Waste Management Department, Quezon City Government PDF (2.6MB)
The speech of Mr. Chansouk PHANDOLAK. Mayor, Luang Prabang, Lao PDR is cancelled According to circumstances.  
10:50 PHT
11:50 JST
Presentations and Discussion
  Mr. Curt Garrigan, Chief, Sustainable Urban Development Section, Environment and Development Division, United Nations Economic and Social Commission for Asia and the Pacific (UNESCAP) PDF (2.3MB)
Mr. Saiful Adib bin Abdul Munaff, Director of Sustainable Cities, Malaysian Green Technology Corporation, Malaysia PDF (2.5MB)
Dr.Pornpimol Varathorn, Director of Public Participatory Promotion Bureau, Department of Environmental Quality Promotion, Ministry of Natural Resources and Environment, Thailand PDF (3.1MB)
11:15 PHT
12:15 JST
Closure of the Session

live Streaming

Thematic Session

  Segment 1: Progress of the SDGs at Local Level
13:00 PHT
14:00 JST
Presentations Mr. Pak Sokharavuth, Deputy Director General, General Directorate of Environmental Protection, Ministry of Environment, Cambodia PDF (3.5MB)
Ms. MURAKAMI Emiko, Director of Business Promotion Division, Asian Center for Low Carbon Society, City of Kitakyushu PDF (3.1MB)
Mr. Novrizal Tahar, Director of Solid Waste Management, Ministry of Environment and Forestry, Indonesia PDF (1.5MB)
Mr. Nguyen Huy Hoang, Director of Planning and Finance Department,
Viet Nam Administration of Seas and Islands, Viet Nam
PDF (645KB)
Mr. IWASAKI Fusanori,  Executive Assistant to President, Economic Research Institute for ASEAN and East Asia (ERIA) PDF (2.6MB)
Mr. Omar Siddique, Economic Affairs Officer, Environment and Development Division UN ESCAP, and Ms. Miho Hayashi, Programme Manager, CCET/IGES PDF (2.6MB)
Mr. Kanchit Manoonphol, Deputy Mayor, Nakhon Si Thammarat City Municipality  
14:00 PHT
15:00 JST
Break (5 min.)
  Segment 2: Climate related Initiatives
Moderator: Mr. Emani Kumar, ICLEI Deputy Secretary General Regional Director, ICLEI South Asia Secretariat
14:05 PHT
15:05 JST
Framing Presentation by Moderator PDF (1.0MB)
  Mr. SHIBUYA Jun, Deputy Director, Environmental Strategy Division, Environmental Policy Bureau, Ministry of the Environment, Japan PDF (2.1MB)
Mr. Albert A. Magalang, Chief, Climate Change Division (CCD), Environmental Management Bureau, Department of Natural Resources and Environment, the Philippines PDF (500KB)
Mr. MICHIGAMI Ryutaro, Deputy Director for International Cooperation Environment Bureau, Osaka City, Japan PDF (1.5MB)
Ms. Erni Pelita Fitratunnisa, Head of Environmental Management and Cleanliness of Environmental Management Agency - Jakarta City PDF (2.8MB)
Dr. Kang San In, Chief Research Fellow, Korea Environment Institute (KEI) PDF (2.0MB)
15:05 PHT
16:05 JST
Closure of the Session

live Streaming

DAY 2: Wednesday, 30 September 2020
Philippine Time: PHT (UTC+8) / Japan Standard Time: JST (UTC+9)

Closing Session: Solidarity for sustainable and resilient city in the New Normal

  PART 1: Presentations
Moderator: Dr. Junichi Fujino, Programme Director; City Taskforce, IGES
9:00 PHT
10:00 JST
Presentations Ms. Thuy Trang Dang, Senior Urban Development Specialist, Urban Development and Water Division, Southeast Asia Department, Asian Development Bank PDF (2.5MB)
TPr. Annie Syazrin Ismail, Senior Assistant Director, Planning Department, Shar Alam City Council, Malaysia PDF (3.9MB)
Mr. Angsutorn Wasusun, Investment and International Affairs Department, the Eastern Economic Corridor Office, Thailand PDF (3.9MB)
Ms. Soumya Chaturvedula, Deputy Director, ICLEI-South Asia Secretariat PDF (1.9MB)
  Part 2. A way forward: future directions of HLS
Moderator: Ms. Yatsuka Kataoka, Joint Programme Director; City Taskforce, IGES
10:00 PHT
11:00 JST
  Engr William P Cunado, Director, Environmental Management Bureau, Department of Natural Environment and Natural Resources (DNER)  
Dr. K. Nagulendran, Chair of ASEAN Working Group on Environmentally Sustainable Cities (AWGESC); Deputy Secretary General (Environment), Ministry of Environment and Water, Malaysia  
Dr. Vong Sok, Head of Environment Division, Assistant Director of Sustainable Development Director - The ASEAN Secretariat  
Mr. Phothala SOUKSAKHONE, Deputy Head of Environmental Promotion Division, Department of Environment, Ministry of Natural Resources and Environment, Laos  
Mr. KONDO Tomohiro, Vice Minister for Global Environmental Affairs,
Ministry of the Environment, Japan
 
10:30 PHT
11:30 JST
Closure of the Session

live Streaming

live Streaming