Virtual Forum “Vision of a Sustainable Future”

8:00 – 9:45 (CET), 16:00 – 17:45 (JST), November 5th, 2020
Virtual Forum  “Vision of a Sustainable Future”

Sustainability, sustainable development, sustainable development goals, sustainable lifestyles and sustainable cities are terms we hear often. We are committed to living sustainably, but do we know where exactly are we headed? What will the destination look like? What is the vision of a truly sustainable world that we would like to live in? Does everyone around the world share the same vision?

Join us in imagining Society 5.0; Thriving Circular Economy; Regional/Local Circulating and Ecological Sphere; and Ecocivilisation, four visions of the future that embrace the concept of sustainability to the fullest.

Event Details

Date
8:00 – 9:45 (CET), 16:00 – 17:45 (JST), November 5th, 2020
Venue

Online (ZOOM)

Organisers
Embassy of the Republic of Slovenia in Tokyo
Delegation of the European Union to Japan
Languages
English
Contact

IGES Kitakyushu Urban Centre
International Village Center 3F 1-1-1, Hirano, Yahata-Higashi-Ku, Kitakyushu City, JAPAN 805-0062
Tel: +81-93-681-1563  |  Fax: +81-93-681-1564
[email protected]

Presentation Materials

8:00 (CET)
16:00 (JST)
Opening Moderator: Dr. Vesna LAVTIZAR (Policy Researcher, IGES)  
Opening Remarks Her Excellency Dr. Ana POLAK PETRIČ
(Ambassador Extraordinary and Plenipotentiary of the Republic of Slovenia to Japan)
 
Her Excellency Dr. Patricia FLOR
(Ambassador Extraordinary and Plenipotentiary of the European Union to Japan)
 
8:15 (CET)
16:15 (JST)
Society 5.0 Mr. Koichi AKAISHI
(Vice Minister for Innovation Policy, Cabinet Secretariat, Japan)
 
Circular Economy Transition in the EU Mr. Pavel MISIGA
(Head of Unit "Circular Economy and Bio-based Systems", Directorate-General for Research and Innovation, European Commission)
 
Ecocivilisation Mrs. Violeta BULC
(Consultant for Presidents, CEOs, and Board members;
Former European Commissioner for Transport)
 
Regional/Local Circulating and Ecological Sphere (CES) Prof. Kazuhiko TAKEUCHI (President, IGES)  
9:00 (CET)
17:00 (JST)
Discussion and Q&A Moderator & Speakers  
9:40 (CET)
17:40 (JST)
Closing Dr. Vesna LAVTIZAR  

Recorded Video

"Sustainability", "sustainable development", "sustainable development goals", "sustainable lifestyles" and "sustainable cities" are terms we hear often. We are committed to living sustainably, but do we know exactly where are we headed? Where is the final destination? What is the vision of a truly sustainable world that we would like to live in? Does everyone around the world share the same vision?
Watch this virtual forum hosted by the Institute for Global Environmental Strategies (IGES), Embassy of the Republic of Slovenia in Tokyo, and Delegation of the European Union to Japan to imagine Society 5.0, the Thriving Circular Economy, the Regional/Local Circulating and Ecological Sphere, and Ecocivilisation, which are four visions of the future that embrace the concept of sustainability to the fullest.