

List of the Board members, Auditors, Honorary Advisors and Counselors of the Institute for Global Environmental Strategies (IGES)

Trustees

Prof. Xuemei Bai

Distinguished Professor, Urban Environment at Fenner School of Environment and Society, Australian National University

Dr. Bindu N. Lohani

Distinguished Adjunct Faculty Asian Institute of Technology (AIT)

Former Vice-President, Knowledge Management and Sustainable Development, Asian Development Bank

Prof. Nobuo Mimura

Former President, Ibaraki University / Specially Appointed Professor, Global and Local Environment Co-creation Institute(GLEC), Ibaraki University

Mr. Takejiro Sueyoshi

Special Advisor, United Nations Environment Programme Finance Initiative / Chairperson, WWF Japan

Mr. Masaki Suzuki

Executive Officer, Financial Services Business, AEON Co.,Ltd.

Prof. Yukari Takamura

Professor, Institute for Future Initiatives (IFI), The University of Tokyo

Mr. Peter James Wooders

Group Director, Energy Programme, International Institute for Sustainable Development (IISD)

Directors

Prof. Kazuhiko Takeuchi

President, Institute for Global Environmental Strategies Project Professor, Institute for Future Initiatives (IFI), The University of Tokyo

Mr. Hideyuki Mori

Executive Director, Institute for Global Environmental Strategies

Mr. Nobutoshi Miyoshi

Managing Director, Institute for Global Environmental Strategies

Mr. Masaya Futamiya

Director-Chairman, Sompo Japan Insurance Inc.

Ms. Hiroko Kono

Journalist

Prof. Ikufumi Niimi

Pofessor Emeritus, Faculty of Law, Meiji University / Lawyer

Prof. Dr. Miranda A. Schreurs

Professor, Chair of Environmental and Climate Policy, Bavarian School of Public Policy, Technical University of Munich

Auditors

Mr. Ken Hasegawa

Lawyer

Mr. Hiroyuki Yasuda

Certified public accountant

Honorary Advisors

Mr. Toshiki Kaifu

Former Prime Minister; Advisor, Global Environmental Action (GEA)

Ms. Yoriko Kawaguchi

Visiting Professor, Musashino University; Fellow, Institute for Global Affairs Former Member of the House of Councilors; Former Minister of Foreign Affairs; Former Minister of the Environment, Japan

Prof. Hiroshi Komiyama

Chairman of the Institute, Mitsubishi Research Institute, Inc; President Emeritus, the University of Tokyo

Mr. Tomiichi Murayama

Former Prime Minister; Senior Advisor, Global Environmental Action (GEA)

Dr. Emil Salim

Chairman, Advisory Council to the President of Indonesia; Former State Minister for Population and Environment, Indonesia

Dr. Stephan Schmidheiny

Honorary Chairman, Executive Committee, World Business Council for Sustainable Development

Mr. Achim Steiner

Former Executive Director, United Nations Environment Programme

Dr. M. S. Swaminathan

Founder Chairman and Chief Mentor, M.S.Swaminathan Research Foundation; UNESCO Chair in Ecotechnology,

Counselors

Mr. Nobutoshi Akao

Former Japanese Ambassador to Thailand

Mr. Lucas Assunção

Head of Trade, Environment and Sustainable Development Branch, United Nations Conference on Trade and Development (UNCTAD)

Mr. Tsuguo Ban

Chairman of the Board of Directors, Japan Forest Recreation Association

Dr. Nobuyoshi Fugono

Advisor, Advanced Telecommunications Research Institute International

Dr. William Glanville

Former Vice President, International Institute for Sustainable Development (IISD)

Mr. Shinji Fukukawa

Advisor, Global Industrial and Social Progress Research Institute

Mr. Takahiko Hiraishi

Former Co-Chair, IPCC Inventories Task Force Bureau

Prof. Ryokichi Hirono

Professor Emeritus, Seikei University

Mr. Masami Ishizaka

Former Chairman of the Board of Directors, Okura Zaimu Kyokai

Dr. Shuzo Nishioka

Former Executive Director of the National Institute for Environmental Studies

Mr. Etsuo Kobayashi

Advisor, Hyogo Environmental Advancement Association

Mr. Tomomitsu Oba

Former President, Japan Center for International Finance

Mr. Yasuhiko Okada

Attorney at Law, Partner, Kitahama Partners (Tokyo Office)

Mr. Shigeyuki Okajima

Vice Chairman, Japan Environmental Education Forum

Mr. Masamine Sasaki

Former President, The Japanese Association for Conservation of Architectural Monuments

Dr. Monthip Sriratana Tabucanon

Director, Climate Change Research Center, National Research Council of Thailand (NRCT)