'APFED Awards for Good Practices'
APFED launched its new international environment award

January 20, 2006

The Asia-Pacific Forum for Environment and Development (APFED) Phase II (Chairman: Yoriko Kawaguchi, former Minister of the Environment / former Minister of Foreign Affairs, Japan) has launched its new international environment award, 'the APFED Awards for Good Practices,' which will be given to organisations that have made outstanding achievements in the promotion of socially-equitable and sustainable development in the Asia-Pacific region.

The awards programme covers all the environmental fields, including climate change, air, forestry, freshwater, biodiversity, together with cross-sectoral issues, such as governance, technology, information, and capacity building. The selection criteria contains various factors such as outstanding environmental improvement or unique/innovative methods.

The applications that satisfy the eligibility requirements and qualify by means of a peer-review will be registered in the APFED database. After a comprehensive evaluation process, winners will be presented with monetary awards. These awards are the Gold Prize (1x USD 20,000), the Silver Prizes (2x USD 7,000) and the Incentive Prizes (5x USD 2,000).

The awards programme aims to not only honour the winners, but to also present and share the lessons learned and knowledge gained for sustainable development in the region through the continual updating of the database, which is open to the public. The prizes will be presented in the summer of 2006. The deadline for applications is 31 March 2006.

APFED Secretariat
(c/o Institute for Global Environmental Strategies (IGES))
2108-11 Kamiyamaguchi, Hayama, Kanagawa, 240-0115 Japan

Go to top of page